IT’s Oscar Time Again! The Academy Awards 2015

Giggle. Whoopee! Tra-la-la it’s Oscar time~~YAY!

Welcome to my annual OSCAR posts. I am your host, the most high Princess Patricia McJudgy Pants, here to guide you through all things Oscar.

The Nominees! The Dresses!  The Winners and those who should not be the winners! No need to check any other social media–everything you need to know, I will tell you. Everything else is crap.

Except this. This is everything. Cannot wait.

o-NEIL-PATRICK-HARRIS-facebook

We start today–the day before the big day–with the nominees.

Best Picture

American Sniper, Birdman, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, Selma, The Theory of Everything, Whiplash

Okay. Like most people, I have not seen most of these films. This year may go down in history as the worst year as far as how many people actually saw the nominated films. After all, there are not many Marvel movies blockbusters on this list, and you know how we love our BIG movies.

And, as my son pointed out, these titles don’t help much. A movie about MLK, Jr. might have done better at the box office in February, for Pete’s sake, if we’d known that a movie with a girls’ name was about this inspiring leader. Whiplash? The Oscars are on tomorrow night and I still don’t know what this is about…and don’t care to find out now. Ditto, The Imitation Game. What. Ever.

(I look forward to your cards and letters.)

To be fair, I know people who saw some of these movies and they liked them. As for me, I saw Boyhood and The Grand Budapest Hotel On Demand in the privacy of my living room, which also makes this year THE ONLY YEAR EVER THAT I DID NOT SEE ONE OF THE NOMINATED MOVIES IN AN ACTUAL THEATER.

Which does not preclude my making predictions.

It’s not that I didn’t want to see them, it’s just that nothing was really pulling me to spend that $11 or $12 to sit in front of someone chomping popcorn in my ear and behind someone checking her cell phone every four minutes. Now that I think of it, my movie-going days are numbered as you really can’t beat watching at home. But I digress.

Who should win? I have no effin’ idea, to be honest. But Boyhood, although interesting and creative, was kind of boring and The Grand Budapest Hotel was awesome, so there you go. Who will win? Probably The Theory of Everything, which I PLAN to see when, ya know, it comes to television.

tgbh

(Please feel free to comment and disagree. We all have opinions and assholes, and all that.)

As for Best Actor, I’m gonna go with Eddie Redmayne because I love him and he’s playing a disabled guy for Pete’s sake which is always an Academy favorite thing and he’s really good in the movie, I heard. Of course, we cannot rule out the ever-adorable and wonderful Bradley Cooper because he’s, well, always cute and always good. Always.

eddiebradely

As for Cumberbatch, Keaton and Carell: Benedict is weird, Michael is awesome and I’d be happy with a win for him, and Steve should have won an armload of Emmys for his portrayal of Michael Scott on The Office, but he looked really weird with this fake nose so, no.

Nominated for Best Actress this year are Felicity Jones, Reese Witherspoon, Academy-favorite Julianne Moore, Marion Cotillard and Rosamund Pike.
I’ve known Julianne Moore since her days on As The World Turns, and she never strikes me as the amazing actress she’s made out to be. However, as I have seen none of these performances yet am willing to judge them nonetheless,  I think she’ll probably win because she’s playing a woman with Alzheimer’s disease and we all know how the Academy loves shit like that. Also, to be fair, I heard she’s pretty good. In tomorrow’s Play-by-Play Oscar Recap post, I will be more happily and wisely  judging the dresses on these women, so stay tuned.
Best Supporting Actor:
Robert Duvall – “The Judge”
Ethan Hawke – “Boyhood”
Edward Norton – “Birdman”
Mark Ruffalo – “Foxcatcher”
J.K. Simmons – “Whiplash”
I LOVE Robert Duvall and believe he is one of our finest actors, so I choose him. The only performance I actually saw was Hawke’s, which was fine. Ruffalo, Norton and Simmons (“…the right person is still going to think the sun shines out your ass“) are all good but again, didn’t see ’em so good luck to everyone.
Best Supporting Actress:
Patricia Arquette – “Boyhood”
Laura Dern – “Wild”
Keira Knightley – “The Imitation Game”
Emma Stone – “Birdman”
Meryl Streep – “Into the Woods
Okay, I KNOW Patricia Arquette has been winning everything, but I just didn’t see it (I mean, I actually saw it, but didn’t think it was good enough for the Oscar win.) Dern? Don’t like. Knightley? With that underbite? Stone? Love her, but again, no see. Which leaves Streep. I did see “Into the Woods” and loved it, but didn’t think she was the best part. Of course, she’s got to be nominated because it’s in her contract, and she did sing and everything and look ugly, also a Hollywood fav, but Streep for the win? Hmmm…on this, I leave it to you. Or I pick Patricia because of the name 😉
Last (because no one really cares about the rest) but certainly not least, the nominees for Best Animated Film are…
who cares? Big Hero 6 wins by a landslide because it was AWESOME and wonderful, with heart and soul and everything one could ever want in an animated film. This is the one I want most.
MV5BMjI4MTIzODU2NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjE0NDAwMjE@._V1_SY1200_CR90,0,630,1200_AL_

 

 

 

 

So here’s to the broadcast that has women everywhere sitting in their gowns and tiaras, sipping wine and staying up past their bedtimes…or is that just in my house? Happy viewing everyone…tty tomorrow.


2 thoughts on “IT’s Oscar Time Again! The Academy Awards 2015

  1. You can rent “The Theory of Everything” now. We watched it last night, and I agree with your Oscar pick. However, I think it will go to Keaton. I will not see American Sniper. The Academy may give it to Cooper because he’s been snubbed the last few years. As for Boyhood: agreed. We only stayed with it to see what Mason’s hair looked like in the next age segment. …What will you be wearing to the show?

So, Whattya think?

