Synchronicity?

4268310_orig

A lot of weird things have been happening to me lately. Not big things, but noticeable things. Like people on tv and behind me at Barnes and Noble saying the EXACT word I’m reading at that exact second. That’s happened many times before, and I always think it’s so insanely random and WOWish!

Then, the other day, I turn on the tv and see Mario Batali (the chef who wears the orange Crocs) making a pasta dish I’d never heard of but looks like my name (Patricia Ann). Hours later, I see that same dish–pasta all’amatriciana–in the book I’m reading (Pat Conroy’s Beach Music). Now, I’ve just finished The Death of Santini and I’ve already read Beach Music–so why again, now, and why those particular pages on that very same night that I first learned of that pasta?

Coincidence? Hmmmm…

THEN I get money from three different people over six days–and each one gave me the SAME amount of money ($60) which doesn’t sound too weird until you know that only ONE of those people was supposed to give me that amount; the other two ended up to be $60 but I didn’t expect either one to be.

Last night I had a dream that I was gathering all sorts of coins off the ground. Someone came up to me with like a “Hey, why are you getting all those coins?” and I responded, simply as I continued to collect them, that they were mine because they were coins from heaven from my father and he wanted me to have them. (I know it’s supposed to be pennies, but ever since my father passed away, I have been finding all sorts of coins at my feet and I think, of course, if anyone could throw down something better than a penny, it would be Dad).

163857452

I mentioned this to my friend Marie who immediately called it synchronicity. THIS IS YOUR TIME, she told me. Now, Marie’s a writer, too, and I’m her editor, and the story we were working on is her latest, called “New Home.” And I’ve just recently moved to a new home!!

It doesn’t end there. The day after I moved into my new apartment complex called Camelot, I went to the Collingswood Book Fair and pretty much walked directly to an author’s table; he was selling his book, Forward to Camelot! I had to buy it, right?

I can’t remember everything’s that’s happened because I wasn’t keeping track of the first few–you know, since it wasn’t a bunch yet. But I started to think about this synchronicity business and I looked it up.

So I got this: Coincidence of events that seem to be meaningfully related, conceived in Jungian theory as an explanatory principle on the same order as causality.

Ah, Jung. Of course, because he was mentioned TONIGHT at my writers’ group meeting! He’s not been mentioned there before, so you see how things are going for me.

Jung and the collective unconscious, I remember it well from my days as a Psych major.

315px-Jung_1910-crop

While at college, I now realize, my favorite album was Synchronicity! I listened to that Police album every single day during my senior year, I swear to you. First to fall over when the atmosphere is less than perfect…You live your life like a canary in a coalmine. You get so dizzy even walking in a straight line. I even remember the dance.

So, it’s a heavy notion to carry around that my time is NOW and I better do something about it! The pressure is already getting to me. I may not have this time again, when the planets are apparently aligning: omg, I wonder if Jupiter’s aligned with Mars? Because I am a diehard Aquarian and that would make sense!

And omg, I look up the Fifth Dimension and I get this spinning LP…and this morning I was looking at a whole bunch of record players with brightly colored albums at Urban Outfitters!

And it becomes clear. Someone is supposed to buy me one of those record players for Christmas! If it costs $60, I’m calling Sting: we got some synchin’ to do.

8 thoughts on “Synchronicity?

  1. If there were a “Love” button I surely would have pressed it!
    Whether you call it synchronicity, serendipity or coincidence, when it happens to you, it has a way of making you feel extra special.
    I believe that it is a reassurance of sorts, to let you know that you’re on the right path.

  2. Fun, fun, fun! And get this: This week my older stepdaughter returned my turn table and receiver because she doesn’t have her own place anymore. Been playing my old albums ’round-the-clock (sort of). And while it wasn’t the first one I played, the first one I pulled out of storage was Supremes’ “Aquarius”! We are all connected. And speaking of connected, any chance of a Patti-sighting in the offing?

    • Wow Carla–just wow. Cool beans. And YES–let’s do a Christmas thingy. I have a list of area fun things to do on my fb page–let’s plan a date!! And thanks so much for reading!!

  3. How wonderful to find affirmation that you are in the right place at the right time in your life! I’d say it’s time to keep your eyes, ears and mind open to the path that is seemingly revealing itself to you!

So, Whattya think?

