TV Dinner: Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and more…9-24-13

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is the big premiere tonight, but I’m not sure I’m gonna like it. My son is thrilled, of course, as he’s a huge Avengers movie fan and I have to admit to loving that movie, but the movie had Robert Downey, Jr. and this tv show doesn’t. So, yeah. Still, it’s worth a look.

Although NCIS is apparently the most popular show on network television, I’ve never tuned into one episode so I won’t start tonight. I’m gonna stay with ABC until 10 pm when I will change to NBC for the return of one of my favorites, Chicago Fire. While it’s no Rescue Me, it is good and has handsome firemen (c’mon, you can’t beat that) and great “fire-fighting” montages. Be still my heart.

I will have to find time to watch The Voice, both Monday and Tuesday nights’ ON DEMAND this week while packing to move. I’m moving on Monday and have yet to pack the tough stuff so I have my work cut out for me, which means, of course, that I’m gonna sit on the couch all night, eating the last of the chocolate chip cookies.

Dinner was pizza–medium, extra-cheese, lite sauce–because my son Michael came home and is going to TAKE THE DOG BACK TO SCHOOL WITH HIM. Yes, I’m that excited! No dog tonight means I don’t have to move my cookies when I get up to pee; I don’t have to follow him around to make sure he’s not barfing, peeing or pooping; I don’t have to endure his toxic farts and believe me, for a tiny, nine pound dog, his farts are TOXIC.

Oh, and I burned the roof of my mouth. Really? Every time? Yep. Every time. sigh.

But I digress. SO yeah, tonight it’s gonna be ABC to NBC, including The Goldbergs and Trophy Wife.

OH, not those Goldbergs. Does anyone remember this show?

This Goldbergs features the very funny Jeff Garlin and the even funnier Wendi McLendon-Covey here looking for all she’s worth like Shelley Long, right? And with George Segal as the grandpa, this show sure is set up to be a hit.

The Goldbergs (2013) Poster

Trophy Wife features Malin Akerman from the movies as the third wife of the cute, cute, cute Bradley Whitford.

RYAN LEE, BAILEE MADISON, MARCIA GAY HARDEN, BRADLEY WHITFORD, MALIN AKERMAN, NATALIE MORALES, MICHAELA WATKINS, ALBERT TSAI

Well, there’s tonight’s lineup–dog free. Let’s watch tv!

OMG would you believe me if I told you that I knew that building was gonna blow? Well, I did.

So our first superhero appears seconds into Marvel’s show, and then we’re in Paris. Ooh, kitchen cabinets and a blender as weapons of mass destruction! But what is Robin Sherbotsky doing here? So Level 7 explains how the deceased Agent Coulson (Clark Gregg) is back for the series, but what is Robin hiding?

“… Joss Whedon confirmed that Coulson is alive in the series, despite his apparent death at the hands of Loki in Marvel’s The Avengers. When describing his character’s return from the dead, Gregg said, “When Joss described to me the mystery…and the complexity and the unanswered questions about Phil Coulson standing there trying to deal with this, I found it so fascinating and so true to the world of the comics and mythology in general as I understand them that I was immediately in.”

OOh again. More important than the series, THOR comes on commercial: man, that guy is such a man. I mean, a MAN and gorgeous and oh so yummy. I’m sorry to gush but man, he is gush-worthy.

I may need to go on a date. Soon.

ANYway…why are all the sciency-nerdy girls so pretty? Pa-lease. As usual on shows like this, they talk really fast so it’s hard to keep up. Remember how it was watching Lost? If you lost attention for a second, if you even just looked away, you were truly lost. That’s how I feel about shows like this: if I have to pay that much attention, I don’t like it.

The Goldbergs was funny, an updated version of The Wonder Years with another Kevin Arnold-type narrating from the future about his past, but I think it’ll be an ON DEMAND show for me as it’s up against The Voice and I kept thinking of what I was missing over there on NBC!

But Trophy Wife is worth watching, if only for Akerland’s honest portrayal of the nubile third wife, up against Marcia Gay Harden (always too much for my taste) as wife number one and Michaela Watkins from SNL (“bitch, pleeeease) as wife number two. If you didn’t watch this one, watch the next.

As for Chicago Fire? Someone’s after Kelly (but he’s so handsome!) and everybody else has something going on. This show combines the action of fire-fighting–which they do with heart and passion and courage that makes women swoon–and good personal story lines. Doncha just love the guy from Sex and the City? He was a bartender there and he’s a bar owner here, as well as a fireman. Other than the way-too-serious voice of the captain (why is he always so mad?), everyone is good and pretty and handsome and throw themselves on the line every single time. It’s goose-bump television and I love it.

http://www.nbc.com/chicago-fire/?__source=Reso_ChicagoFire_MA_Google

2 thoughts on “TV Dinner: Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and more…9-24-13

So, Whattya think?

