February Funk

On my way out of London, I shot a few pics, again from a moving car, but that’s how you do it when you’re in a flurry!

2010-01-01 349

It seemed to me that these are typical London homes outside the city center…most are attached to each other and are modest but not small.

2010-01-01 301

And although Mary Poppins was English, it was the rooftops in Dublin that made me think of Burt and his chimney sweeps:

2010-01-01 305

Ah, when the day is gray and ordinary, Mary makes the sun shine–wait a minute, no she doesn’t. The sun never shines in England nor Ireland, I’m convinced of it. In fact, the sun’s not shining in South Jersey either today. The whole damn world is in its February-Funk and I, for one, am sick of it.

We’ve waited long enough methinks…let’s get some spring up in here for gawd’s sake. My informants in Ireland tell me it’s been dry there. I don’t know if I believe them. I don’t believe there’d been one whole dry day the whole time I was there. Yes, the weather in Valencia was spring-like, but I don’t want to talk about Valencia. It’s like the time I was pregnant and we were exploring America in a motor home. We were going along just fine until we hit Seattle and things started getting dodgy, as the Irish and English say (they may hate each other, but they’re awfully alike). It’s hard to ride along in a bumpy motor home when you’re in your first trimester.

Anyway, I made it to Butte, Montana before calling it quits and booking a flight home. I was so sick in Butte, that no one was allowed to say Butte, Montana in front of me for the rest of the pregnancy–and for a few years after that. But it was part of the story, so when we got to the part about where I flew home from, we said “mmm, mmm, mm, mmm.” Every time.

That’s how I feel about Valencia. Don’t mention it. Say “the place where they make fresh orange juice on every corner.” Or, “the place where the sun shines but the food stinks.” Or even, “that place you hate, even though the weather was good.” You get the idea.

And speaking of “dodgy:”

2010-01-01 247

I don’t get it. English advertising is weird.

But as I look out onto a rainy jersey day, I do miss Ireland and its friendly people and relaxed ways. But if I’m to be honest, what I really miss most of all is this:

CIMG1197

And if I ever get back there, I want to go back to the Ritz-Carlton because I definitely did not take enough baths.

One thought on “February Funk

  1. Even though I’m not a fan of summer, even I start to get antsy for warmer weather by February. I miss London so much…someday I will get back there. Luckily, when I was there, we had a full week of sun – in March no less!

So, Whattya think?

