Dublin Eats

Food, glorious food!
Hot sausage and mustard!
While we’re in the mood —
Cold jelly and custard!
Peas, pudding and saveloys!
What next is the question?
Rich gentlemen have it, boys —
In-di-gestion!

Yep, here in Ireland–as in the England Oliver and company sing of–the food is kinda weird. That is to say, who longs for sausage and mustard when there’s lobster and butter sauce to wish for? I’ve had my share of “Pub Grub” and although it’s fine, it’s nothing to write home about–except I am doing just that; for your information 😉

THIS is their famous Beef and Guinness Stew, which I have had several times (I am the world’s worst vegetarian!):

CIMG1310

You can’t really taste the Guinness, but it’s good. And yes, Potatoes are everywhere, sometimes even on the stew:

2010-01-01 076

The best thing my son ate while he was here was found at McGill’s Pub in the Powerscourt Ritz-Carlton:

CIMG1266

Now, these were NOT the best mozzarella sticks we’ve ever had (I don’t know why the sauce is orange here, b/c it was really red) but getting 12 as an appetizer was a win! American restaurants need to up their games when it comes to quantity!!

I had to laugh at what they put out on the tables here, too: they have little jars of mayo, mustard and ketchup in nicer restaurants, but these are more prevalent:

2010-01-01 083

Which, when you think about it, is much more sanitary than those awful ketchup bottles we have!

The WORST meal I had was in a pizza place next to The Savoy movie theater on O’Connell Street. I stopped in to eat before seeing The Life of Pi to get something cheap and quick. Well, its was cheap and relatively quick (in Irish time, which is relatively slow), but good it wasn’t:

2010-01-01 016

That’s potato and leek soup, which I’d seen everywhere and had to try once (and only once) and a tuna melt which turned out to be tuna–not tuna salad–and cheese and was awful. Thankfully, they had little Ben & Jerry’s half pints in the theater and I enjoyed every single spoonful!

By far, my favorite meal on any day is scones with Irish butter (it’s better than other butter), jam and cream:

2010-01-01 167

I guess it’s a good thing I don’t have a car as walking to and fro at least burns a few calories!

I will miss these scones–and the Smithwicks–and the friends I’ve made. BUT, as it is now, again, raining and windy, I am ready to move on.

So, Whattya think?

